Yangon (a.k.a. Rangoon) day 1

Feels a little bit like a mix between Nepal and Laos here...greedy taxi drivers and nice sellers...
A "nice" guy approached me on the street and helped me to find a "cheap" hostel...since the taxi driver just dropped me "somewhere" in the "hostel area", but with now hostel sign in sight...however he knew the owner of the hostel...
Omg, multi country socket...so professional...
20000 Myanmar money...at the banks they calculate 1000Myanmar=1:ish USD...but on the street they say 1000 Myanmar=1USD, so I think my hotel was pretty cheap compare to the alternatives I checked up...
(It was called "guest house"..with "free wifi", (I read that the internet in myanmar is very slow)...
After some hour I wentto try the local beer..they seem to have many brands...not sure if everything is produced inmyanmar or only bottled here...
I also some useful phrases in a guide book, that I try to memorize...
This is the name of the travel agency I went to after getting accomodation, i needto get to Bangan... a place thats ranked "top 10" in asia, according to lonely planet (what I heard)...bus is super cheap...it cost the same for a dinner as for crossing half of the country...
Each beer can has a stripe saying that "Tax Paid"...
Next stop was to buy this skirt that my friend Oskar bought when hewas here...and that I got to wear in Karlshamn in sweden...
This store had mostly skirts...but also shirts...they said that for guys its easy to make the skirt...but for girls they have to sew it up...to adjust...
They had many different patterns...very cheap...
 
Know I feel like a local...except for carrying a camera and a map and beeing 1-2 head taller than therest...
This is a famous building in the central aof yangon. many houses looks like this inthis country...prety interesting...like a sharp tower...
This is a local park...I was told that a geocache should be here...
I metmany nice people who wants to tractice their english on foreingers...to bad there are not that many foreigners here...
Some random trees...ppl must have thought that I was crazy walking around...looking for somethig thats "hanging" (since the hint for thecache was "hanging")...eventually I realised that no one found the cache for quite a time...but taking a pic at the place was enough...
Some randon guy, "Sai"...who studied myanmar litterature at the ocal university taught me how to get my skirt up in the right way...and to make a pocket...
 
Sais skirt....
Some castle near the park where I met Sai...and some other local people...
Some local buy trying to sell me some postcards...he had this tape to avoid dissiness...and some yellow circles on his face to protect form the sun..."only here boys can have it"..he answered when I asked why he didnt have it all over his face...just like in taiwan they have rules for how to protect in the sun depending on gender...strange...
He also said that he couldnt sell things in the park...due to this sign...thepolice might take sellers...
Andalso, no beer...too bad that I didnt see that sign in time...
Many people hanging out this day...
Omg... hugest lizzard in town (maybe 30 cm long)...(close to the size of the Komodo dragons in indonesia)...
There is no scooters here...thats pretty awesome...but else that traffic is very chaotic...
The post card kid later on showed us some "myanmar resturant"...
Its the rain season here in burma...
So people are used to heavy showers ever now and then...
The pavements are not covered from the sky as well as in taiwan...so people usually get wet when the rain comes...
Th epostcard kid brought his friend to...usually i dont like when people try to be extra kind, just to get money...it creates a mistrust, since I think they want to be nice...I told them that its enough to show me on the map, but they "insisted"...
More rain...
Finally, the myanmar restaurant...I later found out that this was recommended restaurant by Lonely planet..so in the foreigner empty Yangon, I met a woman from Melbourne who was walking a "lonely planet" tour in the city...
It tasted like food from Indonesia and india...
"A plastic bar with a screw"=a bottle opener...
Next beeron the list: "Myanmar"...typical lager taste...
Pesto orsauceI thought...some green chilli it was...
Omg...so many dishes...however only a small portion of each...
And these sugar balls were for dessert...super sweet but still very tasty...
Myanmar language...looks like Thai, or Cambodian...
I was told that its popular here since its clean...I guess this place does pretty well, when they are mentioned inthe lonely planet..to bad its not as easy for foreingers to enter myanmar compare to thailand...then these people here would be super rich (refering to a place in laos where all the foreingers went, since it was nice and recommended, and laos has on the border VISA for countries that generally has a population that is travelling
Omg...Yangon has a Sogo...
Typical archtecture of Yangon...
Omg..an ATM...seems like its a revolution going on here...with ATMs in Yangon...before I heard that on eneeded to bring USD that was totally new...but that seems to be history...I dont se as dirty notes as in nepal...but still the notes are far from clean here...
Typical Myanmar symbol...a Pagoda..
Electroncs are not much more cheap here than in Thailand i think...
This random store makes Jade jewelery...
Some water leakage on the street...the hammer is there to fix it up...
And I also found a mall...just like in the philippines and indonesia they have guards at each mall to check the bags before the locals enter...here, compare to singapore they jsut let me in...
But not that many cusomers on a friday afternoon...
Omg...bags of the lady who was in house arrest (Aung San Suu Kyi)...a reminder that im still in Burma...she will run for the president 2015...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aung_San_Suu_Kyi
The buses here drive with their doors open...
Omg, a store called Johnny...
This is the guest house where I stay..."Cherry guest house"...
A beer called "Skol"...sounds funny 
I had some local whisky before bed...to make sure to buy local products...
Omg...myanmar people are very light...68.75kg each...(550/8)...so practical to have ligth citizens...

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0