Taipei 101 run up...

It seemed to be a very popular event...
Not that many people who tried to sign upp succeeded...but I was lucky to get a place...
I bought redbull and some rice dumpling as breakfast...
Its a 508meter building...not sure about the floors...
Many stands were set up...with sponsors...
Everyone had to fill in some health check form...
They didnt want any person to get a heart attack up there...
I didnt get a chip...and the tai ppl tried to get rd of the proble, byt sending me a way (a very common taiwanese approach)
But by not leaving, its possible to make they feel uncomfortable, and finally solve the problem...
People started in groups...and in order of start number...
Many lotteries and freebees were given away for those who wanted...
I got noodles etc...
I thoguht in running barefeet, but later on changed my mind...
AFter handing in the physical exam...I got a bracelett that people put stickers on when I took the freebees...
Where was a monitor at the start, where people could see the finish at the top...
Many people were queuing up...
This is the distance to walk...
at 12.30 (on the paper, but in reallity at 13.00) I went to stand in line...
This guy was organising the queuing system...
Then we had to scan out chip to enter the building...
And another line up...in sections...
20 people in each section...
Everything went very slow...atleast it felt like it...
Elevators...the normal way to go upstairs...
There were alot of staff checking the queues...
After this section queue, we went to another queue...
It was near the start...
I always wanted to go to this restaurant...my friend when here with her parents 3-4 years ago...i think its an italian restaurant...
THen they scanned my chip again...
And the walk begun...it was hard to run, since people were covering the path...
And they walked very slow...
At some floors they offered water...I also think we could take a rest in the corridor if we left the stair way...and maybe enjoy the view from there...
However, some people choosed to lay down on the stairs...
Or just wait for better times...
It was straight from bottom to top...if i dropped an item at the top it will fall half a kilometer I think...
I didnt know how many floors there were...some one told me 91...so this is abouthalf way...not really tired yet...but warm...
I ran the last 2 stairs...I was never really tired...it was fun, but maybe I should have enjoyed the rest places...with the view more...to explore the building...
Up at the top many people were waiting for their friends to come up...
It was a great view...I was here with my parents 4 years ago...but we couldnt go up on the terass...
Its hard to believe that the building is so high...it feels like standing on a mountain, looking down...
To get down I had to queue, there was only 1 elevator taking people down...
so it was a 40-50 minutes queue, at the time I came up...
These guys ran in the graduate suit...
Here is Taipei downtown...
These guys arranged the queue...
Here is the bus stataion (far away)...this was the higest elevator queue I ever been in...
Danshui (where the ocean is) can bee seen in the horizon...
These guys also graduated...
These foreingers (one I know use to study at NCTU, she from hawaii...sneaked ahead and saved 40 minutees queuing...)
This is the first elevator...super small...
After the frist elevator, we entered another queue...
And another elevator...a little bit bigger...
To this floor where we had to change elevator again...
It was an even bigger elevator...
Well down at the entrance floor I could see thestarta again...
We had to queue to get out from the building...
These guys were just about to start running...
We returned our chips...
And got our time on a diploma...
I got 20 minutes...next time I might run some seconds faster, to get 19 minutes something...it sound much faster...
They also offered a finish monument here, for people to take pictures...
After the run, sight seening in taipei was on the agenda...
Thepublic library had a cool self service borrowing machine...
Since I didnt eat that much breakfast I went to Mcdonalds aswell...(im still in a kind of a hamburger diet)
I bought alot of drinks...
And took a wal in a park I never been to before...
Max speed 20km/h, ppl in wheel chairs has to take it easy...
It was many many people exersicing here...
One of taiwans biggest mosques were here as well...
Many people were reading...most of the students...
I stay in the library with my friends until they closed...and then took the stairs down...I got a dejavy from earier that day...
In taipei they have a "bike and walk" way, instead as in sweden, a "bike and car" way...i dont know which one is the best...
Trackback
RSS 2.0