Mountain climbing in Taiwan.

I just came back from Moutain climbing in Taiwan. We, the mountain climbing club at NCTU and I, took the bus from my school, pass by Nantou (a city in the very center of taiwan, more or less) and went up north east of that city). on the highest road of Taiwan.
I can conclude that it was to much preparations for me, but not for the taiwanese(I guess), they leaders where very strict with not carrying to much weight and to bring the right clothes and equpiment (like a whissle which i never used etc) (as if we were children). But now, afterwards I realise how much I know about clothing and trekking, compare to taiwanese ppl who never lived in a cold country, and I conclude that the info and preparations was necessary.
I also realized the differences in physical condition between people. We just went up some small peaks, and still the other people were soo exhausted.
And ofcourse the lack of cold weather here, creates a rush to go and see snow., it was also ice on the road, so many Tais went there to see snow for the first time in their life.
----
My trip started from that we took the bus at 20 on friday, after 4 hours the bus driver said something while stoping the bus.

The road was closed, so that no one could pass trough without winter tires (or chains on the wheels) on the slippery roads, especially where it is a slope.
We slept in the bus, the first night.
At 6 the road opened. and we went on the highest road in Taiwan, to the highest parking spot.

The road taking us east, and at higher altitudes. The photo is taken from the parking lot.

This is the Moutain (Hehuan shan) 合歡山. It has like 5 peaks and we climbed 4 of them. It was very easy, since the road was about 40-60 minutes from each peak (it is a tourist thing). But it was a great view of other mountains that I from now on must climb.

here is me with my mullet and 2 ppl from my team (we were 2 teams in the group, which we walked with)
And it was an interesting view of Taiwan, a view that is common, but rarely seen.
We started to climb the east peak.

It was ice, (or packed snow) on the path, making it slippery. Strangely enought, the tais consistently walked on the snow, instead of in the small bushes where it was no ice at all. So to the top we spent 90% waiting and 10% walking, since it was tricky for them.

This is the east peak seen from south.
They also prefered to wait in tha shade instead of in the sun, which I never understood, since the temp is probably about 10 degs warmer in the sun...
After the east peak, we took our heavy luggage to walk to the south peak.

The weight was probably less that 20% of what I am usd to carry in the marines, even though the size of the backpack was huge.
I tried to make my pants look like knee breeches or truck-hose, since I was wearing my swedish stålgrå military sox. It made i more cool as well, since I always get super hot when walking (even if the temp was under 0).

It was some hotels (or other resorts) on the road, and from there they had great views over the valley.
We stayed at some of them on our way to the south peak.

Since there was some problems with our bus, we had to walk to the other peaks on the big road between Nantou and Hualien (to large cities in Taiwan, that is crossing the moutains). The bus couldnt even try to drive on the road since the police blocked it, only letting cars with chains or winter tired pass by. It was a very funny scene for a swede, since in sweden you have to take responsibility for your own vehicle, not letting a police doing it), but it was an extreme case i guess....

Taiwan has a few peaks above 3000m. To be listed as one of the "100 peaks" a peak must be over 3000.  It is called to be the rood of Taoiwan and belongs to the central moutain range. It is divided by 2 counties and 2 rivers (Liwu river and Tajia River).
It is a very interesting environment here, with rare flowers, which make ecotourism super big here...

From the not so high south peak, you can see my new favorit moutain in taiwan, (except DaBa, which is forbidden to climb). This moutain is called Mt Jhongyangjian, and is the only moutain in Taiwan that has a pyramid shaped peak (in the middle of the pic).

As common at moutains, it is a big different if you are climbing the north slope or the south slope, since the south more seldom has snow. Shile we were walking on the south peak, the snow was melting...creating mud and it also became slippery.

It was very sunny both days, I was wearing my Vietnamese sunhat. Still having they roots from Laos that I attached to it...
After climed the south peak, we continued to another resort, near the north peak (and west). We were suppose to take the bus here, but it was just about 1 hours walking.

It was a partly cold road, but very nice...

Since the view was stunning. We where int Taroko National Park, in the horizon is Hualine and the east coast of Taiwan.

Since the road it the highest in Taiwan, it is popular to cycle here. I already decided to to that some time, after I get my bike (hiopefully i will get it next week). Then I can enjoy the downhill from here (i dont know if u can see the road on the other side of the valley).
Well at the resort they had food and drinks.

It was the west part of the national park. Taiwanese ppl appreciate environment, since most of the areas in Taiwan are polluted by scooters and traffic. So it was a very modern center in the middle of no where...

just like in sweden we could drink the water from the water crane...(except for that we can drink the water from all water cranes in sweden).
We started to fix the tents that we brought, since they leaders tol us that we were suppose to get up at 4 am, the day after.

It was a great view from here (as well).
After that we made dinner

We made tom Tai food. It was cosy.

(the tents, in the background you can see the north peak of another moutain above 3600m, it is said to be "the dark moutain" since 2 groups of students died there 30 yearrs ago), from then everyone must have permission to climb moutains in taiwan, except from a few moutains, like the one we are climbing.
05 something we packed our things...(I never understood why we went up that early, since it would only take 1-2 hours to climb the north peak moutain, but I have stopped questionise things here in taiwan since some month ago).

It was very touristic, we went on stairs the first 20 minutes...
Group 2 started earlier that us, but since I did not have enrgy to wait for my group I walked in my own phase and catched up on the others later on.

in the middle of the moutain, they had this big blank sign, i never figuered out what it was for.

On the north peak, only me and my Accouting book was there the fist 30 minutes, since my book does not har fingers, it could not take a pic on me...
I brought the book since I had exam on the upcomming day, even if i did not study that efficient...

I can see group 2 approaching...

It was time for everyone to take pic again...
This time both me and my best friend was on the pic...

Somewhere in the background you can see Jade mountain (YuShan) in the horizon, the highest moutain in Taiwan...but still so far far away from where I am...

A real moutain climber does not face the way up as a challenge, but the way down...
It was even more mud now, I better watch my step.

When everyone was back we stayed some mintes in the resort (cafe), it felt like an after ski in the alps...
I was almost about to buy glu wine...but they did not have, so i went for ginger tea...and egg.
After this we headed for the center peak...the highest of them all...

But so touristic...a road all the way to the peak...i almost ran up, and yes, I had my hands in my pockets, like the french guy to wanted to show the swedish people that kebnekaise is not te be climbed, but to be walked (it is the highest moutain in sweden). I will walk Mount Blanc some days with my hands in my pocket...
The center peak use to be a military base until 2000, when it was open for the public.

On the way up they had the highest toilet in Taiwan. An ecotoilet. Since ecotourism is big here nowadays. They also try to restore the moutain as it was before the military activity.
I had to try it...

And Yes. Me and my book was first up on this peak as well...
I met a very nice guy there, who told me about a passport that I can get and I must take pic on myself on the moutains (since more or less every mountain in taiwan has a sign with the name and height of that moutain), and paste that pic on the passport. After 9 pics i will get a diploma...almost like tha Swedish classic but perhaps easier...

JS at the center peak...
I wonder which my next mountain will be...
Trackback
RSS 2.0